Back

Inventory number: U-410

Title: Fragment of wall painting with an image of horse's head
Material: loess plaster base (clay and chopped straw), gypsum primer, mineral pigments
Front side or imprint: front side
Dimensions: 16 × 10.2 cm
Site of discovery: the temple of god Ḫaldi at Erebuni
Research laboratory that performed the study: Laboratory of chemical and technological research of the State Research Institute of Restoration (GosNIIR)

The mural fragment with the image of a horse's head is of particular interest for chemical and technological research, as it is one of the rare examples of the wall paintings from Erebuni, which has been preserved from the front side, rather than the imprint of the paint layer. Therefore, samples of both white primer and plaster base with traces of the paint layer were taken in the laboratory of chemical and technological research of the State Research Institute of Restoration. The chemical analysis of several samples of white primer (sample No. 7, Table 1) showed (Fig. 1) that its composition includes gypsum and calcite (the ratio of gypsum to calcite is 2:1).

Table 1. The chemical composition of the sample of the white primer with traces of the paint layer from the mural fragment U-410, sample No. 7.

Oxides

МgO

Al2O3

SiO2

P2O5

SO2

K2O

CaO

Fe2O3

CuO

ZnO

BaO

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

7. Composition, mass. %

-

-

-

0,60

41,67

-

57,52

0,17

-

-

-

The second sample was taken from the plaster base, but it was studied from both the front side of the fragment (the surface of the plaster base with the paint layer) and the back side (the lower part of the plaster base going deep into the painting fragment; Fig. 2). The element analysis of samples from the front side of the plaster base (sample No. 8/1) revealed the following chemical composition (Table 2A): the aluminosilicates, quartz, iron hydroxides, calcite, plaster (ratio of gypsum to calcite – 1.6:1). The plaster in the sample from the front surface probably represents traces of the preserved original primer. Analysis of the second sample from the back side of the mural fragment U-410 (sample No. 8/2) showed that its chemical composition includes aluminosilicates, iron hydroxides and calcite (Table 2B). However, unlike sample No. 8/1, there is no gypsum in the sample of the back side.

Table 2. The chemical composition of the sample of the plaster base from the front and back sides of the mural fragment U-410, sample No. 8/1-2.

Oxides

Al2O3

SiO2

SO2

 

Р2О5

K2O

CaO

 

TiO2

 

Сr2O3

 

MnO

Fe2O3

CuO

SrO

ZnO

ВаО

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

A.8/1. Composition, mass. %

10,80

41,23

9,14

0,35

4,06

16,29

1,32

0,05

0,23

15,76

0,51

-

0,09

0,10

B.8/2. Composition, mass. %

18,92

36,46

-

-

1,55

15,52

0,80

-

0,44

23,80

0,29

1,98

0,2

1,98

As in most of the other studied wall paintings from Erebuni, the plaster base of the mural fragment U-410 consists of loess deposits with a plant filler in the form of chopped straw.

a
b
c
d

Fig. 1. Sample of the plaster base from the mural fragment U-410 (sample No. 7, a-d – several samples of white primer).

a
b
c
d

Fig. 2. Samples of the plaster base of the paint layer with inclusions of blue pigment from the mural fragment U-410 (sample No. 8/1-2, a – the front and back of the sample No. 8/1; b-c – the front and back of the sample No. 8/2; d – the section of the sample No. 8/2 close-up).

Вернуться назад

Инвентарный номер У-410

Название: Фрагмент росписи с изображением пасущейся коровы
Материал: лессовая штукатурная основа (глина и резаная солома), гипсовый грунт, минеральные пигменты
Лицевая сторона или отпечаток: лицевая сторона
Размеры: 16 × 10,2 см
Место находки: храм бога Халди в Эребуни
Научно-исследовательская лаборатория, проводившая анализ: Лаборатория химико-технологических исследований ГосНИИР

Фрагмент росписи с изображением головы лошади представляет особый интерес для химико-технологических исследований, поскольку это один из редких образцов настенной живописи из Эребуни, который сохранился в виде лицевой стороны, а не отпечатка красочного слоя. Поэтому в лаборатории ГосНИИР были взяты пробы как белого грунта, так и штукатурной основы со следами красочного слоя. Поэлементный анализ нескольких проб белого грунта (проба № 7, Таблица 1) показал (Рис. 1), что ее состав включает гипс и кальцит (соотношение гипса и кальцита – 2:1).

Таблица 1. Химический состав пробы белого грунта красочного слоя фрагмента росписи У-410, проба № 7.

Окислы

МgO

Al2O3

SiO2

P2O5

SO2

K2O

CaO

Fe2O3

CuO

ZnO

BaO

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

7. Состав,

масс.%

 

-

-

-

0,60

41,67

-

57,52

0,17

-

-

-

Вторая проба была взята из штукатурной основы, но ее исследовали как с лицевой стороны фрагмента (поверхность штукатурной основы с красочным слоем), так и с тыльной стороны (нижняя часть штукатурной основы, уходящей вглубь фрагмента росписи; Рис. 2). Поэлементный анализ пробы с участка лицевой стороны штукатурной основы (проба № 8/1) показал следующий химический состав (Таблица 2А): алюмосиликаты, кварц, гидроокислы железа, кальцит, гипс (соотношение гипса и кальцита – 1,6:1). Гипс в пробе с лицевой поверхности штукатурки, вероятно, представляет собой следы сохранившегося авторского грунта. Анализ второй пробы участка из нижнего слоя фрагмента росписи У-410 (проба № 8/2) выявил, что состав тыльной стороны включает алюмосиликаты, гидроокислы железа и кальцит (Таблица 2Б). Но, в отличие от пробы № 8/1, в составе пробы тыльной стороны гипс отсутствует.

Таблица 2. Химический состав пробы штукатурки с лицевой и тыльной сторон фрагмента росписи У-410, проба № 8/1-2.

Окислы

Al2O3

SiO2

SO2

 

Р2О5

K2O

CaO

 

TiO2

 

Сr2O3

 

MnO

Fe2O3

CuO

SrO

ZnO

ВаО

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

А. 8/1.

Состав,

масс.%

 

10,80

41,23

9,14

0,35

4,06

16,29

1,32

0,05

0,23

15,76

0,51

-

0,09

0,10

Б. 8/2. Состав,

масс.%

 

18,92

36,46

-

-

1,55

15,52

0,80

-

0,44

23,80

0,29

1,98

0,2

1,98

Как и в большинстве других исследованных росписей из Эребуни, штукатурную основу фрагмента У-410 составляют лессовые отложения с растительным наполнителем в виде резаной соломы.

a
б
в
г

Рис. 1. Проба штукатурной основы из фрагмента росписи У-410 (проба № 7, а-г – несколько проб белого грунта).

a
б
в
г

Рис. 2. Пробы штукатурной основы красочного слоя с вкраплениями голубого пигмента из фрагмента росписи У-410 (проба № 8/1-2, а – лицевая и тыльная сторона пробы №8/1; б, в – лицевая и тыльная стороны пробы № 8/2; г – участок пробы № 8/2 крупным планом).