Paintings Conservation

The history of the workshop begins in 1924, when textensive collections of paintings from the Hermitage, the Rumyantsev Museum and the State Museum Fund were transferred to The Pushkin State Museum. Within the walls of the museum, in different periods worked such renown conservators as M. Yukhnevich, V. Yakovlev, P. Korin, S. Churakov, and G. Karlsen, who laid the foundation for the paintings conservation workshop. Throughout the years, our conservators have brought to life hundreds of paintings that form the basis of the permanent collection of the museum. In the post-war years, large-scale conservation works on the masterpieces from the Dresden National Gallery were carried out in the museum.

Our collection of paintings is constantly replenished with new acquisitions. In 1948, due to the closing of the State Museum of New Western Art, about 300 works of impressionists and post-impressionists were transferred to the museum. The Museum of Private Collections created in 1985 is a home to pieces of ancient Russian art and paintings of Russian artists, avant-garde artists, as well as contemporary artists. The variety of museum depositories requires a high level of professional skills from a conservator, and the ability to work with various techniques. In the workshop, there is no division into separate sections based on the specific nature of the conserved paintings (oil, tempera, or mixed media) as it is customary in some other museums. Instead, we have art conservators specializing in both tempera and oil paintings, as well as a conservator of wooden boards.

Each piece upon entering the workshop is subjected to a thorough technical and technological survey. The process of conservation treatments must be approved and controlled by the Museum Conservation Council. In addition to conservation itself, the duties of our conservators include regular inspections of the state of preservation of paintings in the exposition and depositaries. Because of how extensive the exhibition activity of the museum is, the conservators have to actively participate in preparations for the exhibitions, carry out the necessary conservation treatments, prepare exhibits for transportation, check their state of preservation, fill in the accompanying documentation.

A contemporary museum conservator must perfectly master and use not only the traditional methods of restoration and conservation, but also constantly expand their knowledge of the latest technologies and materials, get acquainted with the experience and discoveries of the colleagues from other museums. In this regard, the workshop staff constantly improve their professional levels by participating in various conservation conferences, seminars and master classes.

 

 

The workshop's works

Garofalo, Adoration of the Shepherds

Bernardino Fungai, Scipio Africanus Takes Surrendered Captive King Syphax

Jusepe de Ribera, Apostle James The Elder

Bartolomé Esteban Murillo, Archangel Raphael With Bishop Domonte

Titian, Ecce Homo

Niccolò di Pietro, Madonna with angels and a donor. Lamentation

Paolo Veronese, Resurrection

Jacob Jordaens, Satyr and the Peasant

Canaletto, Bucentaur's return to the pier by the Palazzo Ducale

Мастерская реставрации живописи

Практическая деятельность мастерской реставрации живописи начинается с 1924 г., когда собрание музея пополнилось обширными коллекциями полотен из Эрмитажа, Румянцевского музея и Государственного музейного фонда. В стенах музея в разные периоды работали такие известные мастера, как М. К. Юхневич, В.Н. Яковлев, П. Д. Корин, С. С. Чураков, Г. Г. Карлсен, заложившие фундаментальную основу современной мастерской реставрации живописи. Музейные реставраторы за годы существования мастерской вернули к жизни сотни картин, составляющих основу постоянной экспозиции музея. В послевоенные годы в стенах музея были проведены масштабные реставрационные работы по консервации шедевров из Дрезденской национальной галереи.

Музейное собрание живописи постоянно пополняется новыми приобретениями. В 1948 г. в связи с закрытием Государственного музея нового западного искусства в музей было передано около 300 полотен импрессионистов и постимпрессионистов. Музей личных коллекций, созданный в 1985 г., имеет в своём собрании произведения древнерусской живописи, картины русских художников, художников-авангардистов, а также современных мастеров живописи. Разнообразие и многоплановость музейных фондов предполагает высокий уровень профессионального мастерства реставратора, умение работать с различными живописными техниками. В мастерской нет разделения на отдельные секции по принципу специфики реставрируемой живописи (масляной, темперной, или смешанных техник), как это принято в других музеях. Но в штате есть реставраторы, специализирующиеся на реставрации и темперной, и масляной живописи, а также реставратор деревянных основ живописи.

Каждый экспонат, поступивший в длительную реставрацию, подвергается тщательному технико-технологическому обследованию. Процесс реставрационных работ утверждается и контролируется Реставрационным советом музея. Кроме реставрационной деятельности, в обязанности реставраторов входят регулярные осмотры состояния сохранности произведений, находящихся в экспозиции и запасниках. Обширная выставочная деятельность музея предполагает активное участие реставраторов, которые проводят необходимые консервационные работы, подготавливают экспонаты к транспортировке, проверяют состояние сохранности, заполняют сопроводительную документацию.

Современный музейный реставратор должен в совершенстве владеть и использовать на практике не только традиционные методики реставрации и консервации, но и постоянно расширять свои знания в области новейших технологий и материалов, знакомиться с опытом и открытиями коллег из других музеев. В связи с этим сотрудники мастерской постоянно повышают свой профессиональный уровень, участвуя в различных реставрационных конференциях, семинарах и мастер-классах.

Реставрационные работы, выполненные в мастерской

Гарофало «Поклонение пастухов»

Бернардино Фунгаи «Сципион Африканский принимает сдавшегося в плен царя Сифакса»

Хусепе Риберa «Апостол Иаков Старший»

«Архангел Рафаил с епископом Домонте» и «Иосиф с младенцем Христом» Мурильо

Тициан «Се Человек»

Николо ди Пьетро «Мадонна с донатором и ангелами. Оплакивание»