Japanese colour woodcuts

Author Utagawa Kunisada
Title Japanese woodcuts
School Japan
Technique Colour woodcuts
Workshop Paper Сonservation
Zoom

In 2012, several Japanese coloured prints from the Oriental art collection of the museum were treated in the workshop.  

The items from this group were transferred to the museum at different times from different collections. Thus, 19 fragments of Sugoroku game (6,7,8,9,10) came to the museum from the collection of N.Galkin in 1931, and Kunisada’s Walk and At Hashimoto Restaurant were obtained from the State Archive of Literature and Arts in 1957.

The prints belong to the Ukiyo-e genre from Edo period. The main theme of Ukiyo-e is everyday life of townspeople, their work days and holidays: beautiful courtesans (bijin-ga), sumo wrestlers, Kabuki actors (yakusha-e), erotic scenes (shunga), landscapes (fukei-ga) and images of flowers and birds (kachō-ga).

Many Japanese prints in the museum require conservation to be exhibited later and properly stored. In those cases, the conservation treatments call for the use of the traditional Japanese materials: Japanese paper, adhesives, and tools.

Stages of conservation treatments

1.Conservation of Utagawa Kunisada’s (1786-1864) Walk (1) and At The Hashimoto Restaurant (3).

Japanese prints were made on different types of hand-made paper to achieve greater expressiveness. A print worker had to consider the hygroscopicity of the paper (how well the dyes are absorbed) and its texture, which helped to translate the artistic intention of the author. The composition of the paper included vegetable fibre and sizing. Traditional Japanese paper (wasi) is thin, long-fibred, lightly sized, working with it requires a very delicate approach, as the slightest physical impact causes damage to the surface (exfoliation of the fibres). Therefore, mechanical cleaning is only possible with a scalpel and a soft brush, and only in areas where the contaminants don not penetrate the paper deeply.

Japanese dyes used for such prints are a mixture of vegetable and mineral pigments, water and a small amount of animal glue, and they are not always water resistant. Therefore, the paint layer and museum stamps made with ink had to be tested for that. The test showed that the printing paints were water resistant, but not the stamp ink. To avoid the penetration of the ink further into the paper and staining the front side of the print, the stamps were weakened with a water-alcohol solution on the filter paper.

The paper was washed on a special mesh in the cuvettes with distilled water to remove the yellowness. The stickers and traces of glue were removed from the back side.

A local chemical treatment was used to remove the grease and brown stains. Then, the prints were washed in water until iodine-starch paper test gave neutral results.

To mend the breaks and consolidate the creases, as well as to fill the small losses, the fitting in colour and thickness traditional Japanese wasi paper and glue made of wheat starch were used. Larger losses, which would be difficult to retouch, were filled with tinted paper pulp.

The next stage was drying the paper. The prints were dried in the press for three weeks. After that they were retouched with watercolours (5). The prints were placed in passe-partouts made of acid-free cardboard and returned to the depository (2, 4).

2. Conservation of Utagawa Kunisada’s prints for a Sugoroku game (6, 7, 8, 9, 10).

Sugoroku (Japanese: "paired sixes") is a board game played with dice and tokens that move across the spaces on the board. In this case, the spaces took form of a series of portraits of famous Kabuki Theater actors.

At one point, it used to be a whole piece of paper, which was later cut into 20 fragments. Only 19 of them are preserved in the museum.

At first, all the museum stamps with the inventory numbers were weakened, the surface of each fragment was cleared of the stains and stickers. The paper was washed to eliminate the yellowness. Then, just like in the previous case, local chemical treatments followed.

The small tears were mended with Japanese paper, their soiled edges, tears and small losses were filled with paper pulp on a light table.

The goal was to combine the fragments, according to the original plan of the author, into a single sheet. Parts of the print were glued together, and the missing fragments were filled with Japanese paper, tinted with watercolours in advance. Then the print was backed with a thin sheet of Japanese paper, which allowed to recreate the original appearance of the print without changing its quality.

Japanese paper is hygroscopic and stretches when wet. To avoid uneven stretching during the drying process, before backing the paper, all fragments were slightly moistened with a poultice made of damp cloth, Horetex and film. To straighten the paper base, the sheet was placed between the layers of cloth in the press. The drying process took about three weeks.

After the pressing, the paper was retouched in places of loss, abrasions and creases with watercolours (11, 12, 13, 14). Then, the prints were placed in passe-partouts made of pH-neutral cardboard for exhibiting and storage.

Цветные японские ксилографии

Автор Утагава Кунисада
Название Японские ксилографии
Школа Япония
Техника Цветная ксилография
Мастерская Мастерская реставрации графики
Увеличить

В 2012 году в мастерской реставрации графики была закончена реставрация японских цветных ксилографий из хранения восточной графики ГМИИ им. А.С.Пушкина.

В музей эта группа предметов была передана в разное время из разных коллекций. Так 19 фрагментов игры сугороку (6,7,8,9,10) поступили в музейную коллекцию из собрания Н. Галкина в 1931г., а гравюры Утагава Кунисада "На прогулке"(1) и "У ресторана Хасимото"(3) получены из Дирекции художественных выставок и панорам (ДВХП) в 1957г.

Ксилографии выполнены в стиле Укиё-э периода Эдо. Главная тема укиё-э - повседневная жизнь горожан, их будни и праздники: прекрасные куртизанки (бидзин-га), борцы сумо, актеры театра Кабуки (якуся-э), эротические сцены (сюнга), пейзажи (фукэй-га) и изображения цветов и птиц (катё -га).

Многие японские гравюры в музейном собрании требуют реставрации и консервации для последующего экспонирования и корректного хранения. Реставрационные работы в данном случае имеют присущую им специфику, в том числе применение традиционных японских материалов: японской бумаги, клея, инструментов.

Этапы реставрационной работы

1.Реставрация гравюр Утагава Кунисада (1786-1864) "На прогулке"(1) и "У ресторана Хасимото"(3).

Японские гравюры печатались на разных сортах бумаги ручного отлива для достижения большей выразительности. Печатник принимал во внимание гигроскопичность бумаги (степень впитывания красителей) и ее фактуры, что помогало воплощению художественного замысла автора. В состав бумаги входило растительное волокно и растительная проклейка. Традиционная японская бумага (васи), - тонкая, длинноволокнистая, слабопроклеенная, работа с ней требует очень деликатного подхода, т.к. малейшее механическое воздействие вызывает повреждение поверхности (отслоение волокон). Поэтому, осуществлять механическую очистку возможно только с помощью скальпеля и мягкой кисти, и только в областях неглубоких загрязнений.

Японские красители, используемые в гравюрах, представляют собой смесь растительных и минеральных пигментов, воды и небольшого количества коллагенового клея животного происхождения, и не всегда водостойки. Поэтому предварительно были проведены тесты на текучесть красочного слоя и музейных штампов, выполненных фиолетовыми чернилами. Тест показал устойчивость к водной обработке печатных красок, а чернила штампов - нет. Для того, чтобы избежать проникновения красителя на лицевую сторону гравюры, музейные штампы были ослаблены водно-спиртовым раствором на фильтровальной бумаге.

Листы были промыты от желтизны, с учетом хрупкости и рыхлости бумаги, на специальной сетке в кюветах с дистиллированной водой. С оборотных сторон ксилографий были удалены наклейки и следы клея.

Для удаления жировых и бурых пятен применялась местная химическая обработка. Далее листы были промыты в воде до нейтральной реакции йодкрахмальной бумаги.

Для подклейки разрывов и укрепления сломов, а также восполнения мелких утрат, использовалась сходная по цвету и толщине традиционная японская бумага васи и клей, приготовленный из пшеничного крахмала. Значительные по размеру утраты, создающие трудности для последующей тонировки, восполнялись тонированной бумажной массой.

Следующим этапом в работе был процесс сушки бумаги. Гравюры высушивались в прессе в течение трех недель. После отпрессования была проведена художественная ретушь акварельными красками(5). Гравюры смонтированы в паспарту из безкислотного картона и возвращены в хранение (2, 4).

2. Реставрация гравюры Утагава Кунисада (1786 - 1864) для игры сугороку (6, 7, 8, 9, 10).

Сугороку (яп. «парные шестерки») - настольная игра в кости с передвижными фишками по клеточкам поля. В данном случае, это серия портретов известных актеров театра Кабуки.

Ранее это был цельный большой лист, который был позднее разрезан на 20 фрагментов. В музее сохранились лишь 19 из них.

Сначала все музейные штампы с инвентарными номерами были ослаблены, поверхность каждого фрагмента была очищена от механических загрязнений и наклеек. Листы были промыты от желтизны. Далее, как и в предыдущем случае, применялась локальная химическая обработка.

Небольшие разрывы подклеивались японской бумагой, загрязненые края разрывов, сломы и мелкие утраты были восполнены бумажной массой, методом долива на столе с подсветом.

Перед реставратором была поставлена задача объединить фрагменты согласно оригинальному замыслу автора в единый лист. Части гравюры были склеены, а недостающие фрагменты были восполнены японской бумагой, заранее тонированной акварелью. Затем гравюра была сдублирована на тонкий лист японской бумаги, что позволило воссоздать первоначальный облик ксилографии, не изменяя ее качества.

Японская бумага гигроскопична и сильно растягивается во влажном состоянии. Для того, чтобы избежать неравномерного растяжения при высыхании, перед дублированием все фрагменты были слегка увлажнены с помощью компресса из влажной ткани, материала Нoretex и пленки. Для выравнивания деформации бумажной основы лист поместили между слоями сукна в пресс. Процесс высушивания занял около трех недель.

После отпрессования лист был тонирован в местах утрат, потертостей и сломов с помощью акварели (11, 12, 13, 14). Для дальнейшего экспонирования и хранения гравюра была помещена в паспарту из рН-нейтрального картона.